Album Review: Cedar Boulevard – “Turn To Stone”


To move anywhere takes a lot of dedication, you have to move all of your belongings and your life as well. Moving can be worth it though and it seems like it has been for Cedar Boulevard. Luke Sharp, guitarist of the band, left his home in Australia to pursue his musical aspirations. The band has grown since he left; Cedar Boulevard has released an EP and is soon to release an album. They have also had the privilege to play on the Ernie Ball stage at Warped Tour 2015.

Their newest album is called Turn To Stone. It contains 13 epic songs that differ in style. Some have heavy guitar and drums, while others are on the softer side of. The album begins with the song “Wake”. The song is really cool, starting with fast guitars, pounding riffs and then going into soft singing and back to fast guitar.

My favorite song on this album was track six, “Know Meaning”. I enjoyed it because it sounded different than what I had heard so far. This song is much more of a ballad than the other songs. You can heard the vocals really well on this song and the lead singer’s voice is for sure the main focal point. There’s an acoustic guitar throughout the song and there’s also a second singer in parts of it. Lyrically this song seemed a little more vulnerable than the other songs on the album. It seemed that it was about questioning yourself.

Turn To Stone as a whole is a really good album if you’re into bands like Pierce The Veil, early A Day To Remember and Avenged Sevenfold. The album definitely packs in the guitar riffs throughout the album which is cool because the way the lead singer’s voice sounds works super well with the heavy riffs. The album is definitely one that should be listened to immediately once it is released. This album keeps you intrigued while listening to it because it has the hard guitar riffs that some people crave it also has the slower ballad like songs.

  1. Wake
  2. Goodbye
  3. Turn to Stone
  4. Ghosts of Tomorrow
  5. Tear
  6. Know Meaning
  7. Reprise: A Resurrection
  8. Of Wolves and War
  9. Feels like Home
  10. Take this Sin
  11. Insomnium
  12. Darker Heavens
  13. Lost And Alone

Post by Madeline Cronin

What are your thoughts on this album? Comment below.

Like Concert Crap on Facebook

Subscribe to our Youtube

Follow Concert Crap on Instagram

Follow Concert Crap on Twitter

Follow us on Snapchat: @ConcertCrap

Or click the “Follow” link on the bottom right corner and type in your email to get updates sent directly to your inbox.


Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.